scroll to top.svgleft arrow.svgright arrow-1.svg
AAAAI logo.svg
share_on_x_twitter.svgShare on Facebook.svgshare on Linkedin.svg

In Brief

In Memory: George Green, MD, FAAAAI
George Green, MD, FAAAAI, who practiced medicine for over 50 years, passed away January 28 at the age of 89.
Dr. Green attended the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine and went on to complete his residency in Internal Medicine at the Mayo Clinic. He completed his fellowship in A/I at the University of Pennsylvania in 1966.
His contributions to the A/I field extended far beyond clinical work. Dr. Green was also involved in research, including his investigations into the epidemiology of penicillin hypersensitivity and penicillin skin testing. Dr. Green was a dedicated mentor to many through his practice, his involvement in related organizations and through his support of graduate medical education.
Dr. Green served as a member of the American Medical Association House of Delegates (HOD) on behalf of the AAAAI for 25 years. He worked tirelessly for allergist/immunologists, notably including efforts to protect in-office compounding of allergen extracts and small specialties’ engagement in the HOD.
In Memory: Jordan N. Fink, MD, FAAAAI
The AAAAI is saddened to share news of the recent passing of Past President Jordan N. Fink, MD, FAAAAI, an iconic figure in the A/I field.
Dr. Fink worked tirelessly during his long career at the Medical College of Wisconsin (formerly Marquette University’s School of Medicine), where he trained over 50 fellows and developed the careers of numerous medical faculty members.
He was a dedicated researcher and clinician. His observation in the late 1960’s led to the clinical description, science and treatment of hypersensitivity pneumonia. Over the course of his career, he authored 368 papers. He was well-known for his contributions to information about allergic bronchopulmonary aspergillosis (ABPA), ABPA in patients with cystic fibrosis and latex allergy. The AAAAI Foundation honored Dr. Fink’s work with the establishment of the Jordan N. Fink, MD, FAAAAI Lectureship.
In Memory: Abba I. Terr, MD, FAAAAI
Abba I. Terr, MD, FAAAAI, who practiced medicine for 67 years, passed away January 23 in Cloverdale, California at the age of 93.
He graduated from Case Western Reserve University Medical School and went on to become a Clinical Professor of Medicine and Director of the Allergy Clinic at Stanford. Dr. Terr was active in research and teaching, with a focus on occupational allergy and the regulation of IgE production. He was also a writer and co-authored the textbook Basic and Clinical Immunology, and wrote four books on “Medical Immunology”.
During his long career, Dr. Terr served on a number of allergy societies and committees across the world. In 1995, he was named the recipient of the AAAAI Distinguished Clinician Award. Dr. Terr was also a Past Vice President of the AAAAI and was one of the last people to serve in the role before the AAAAI bylaws were changed.
In Memory: Monika I. Woroniecka, MD
Monika I. Woroniecka, MD, a Pediatric Allergy and Immunology specialist at Stony Brook Children’s Hospital, passed away after a trailer accident that occurred April 6. She was 58.
Originally from Poland and a native Polish speaker, she drew Polish-speaking families to where she practiced. She attended the University of Warsaw School of Medicine and ultimately completed her A/I fellowship at the University of Buffalo School of Medicine.
She began practicing allergy/immunology in the early 2000s. She treated children with food allergies, environmental and bee sting allergies, asthma and skin allergies. Dr. Woroniecka also evaluated children for immunity disorders as well as frequent infections. She was known for developing long-term relationships with the families she treated.
Congratulations to These 2024 Grant Awardees
The AAAAI is pleased to announce two of our award winners who were unable to be recognized in Washington, DC, during the 2024 AAAAI Annual Meeting.
Maureen Egan Bauer, MD, FAAAAI, received the Hope APFED/AAAAI Grant Award. “I am honored to receive this award, and with it I will be collaborating with my colleagues in gastroenterology to evaluate the use of the esophageal string test as a diagnostic tool for EoE amongst patients with atopic diseases. It is our hope that this non-invasive method can help alleviate diagnostic delay and mitigate health disparities seen in EoE,” she said.
Alexei Gonzalez-Estrada, MD, FAAAAI, is the recipient of the 2024 Drug Allergy Research Grant. “I am extremely grateful to use this grant to support my research, ‘Mechanisms and accurate testing of cefazolin allergy’. I would like to thank Dr. David Khan for his presidential initiative to increase drug allergy research through this award. I would also like to thank my previous mentor Dr. David Lang and my current mentorship team, Drs. Hirohito Kita and Matthew Rank for their ongoing support and insight.”
Charlotte Cunningham-Rundles, MD, PhD, FAAAAI, Awarded 2024 Joachim Hilfenhaus Award for Exceptional Contributions to the Field of Immunology
The Plasma Protein Therapeutics Association (PPTA) announced Charlotte Cunningham-Rundles, MD, PhD, FAAAAI, as the winner of the 2024 Joachim Hilfenhaus Award for exceptional contributions to the field of immunology.
Dr. Cunningham-Rundles is a world-renowned researcher, known for her commitment to advancing our understanding of primary immunodeficiency diseases. She is currently the David S. Gottesman Professor of Immunology at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York and directs the Immunodeficiency Clinic at Mount Sinai.
As an expert in over 150 primary immunodeficiency diseases, her contributions have been widely recognized by the medical community. The Joachim Hilfenhaus Award is awarded annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the safety and efficacy of plasma-derived medical products.